The Environment & Society Portal is created by the Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society (RCC), a joint initiative of the LMU Munich (University of Munich) and the Deutsches Museum. The project is made possible thanks to the generous support of the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research. For their collaboration and advice on many aspects of the project, we owe special thanks to the Bavarian State Library and our international partners.

Environment & Society Portal team (April 2018):
Ruhi Deol, Iris Trautmann, Jonatan Palmblad, Kimberly Coulter

Environment & Society Portal Core Team

Kimberly Coulter, Director of the Environment & Society Portal
Iris Trautmann, Digital humanities research specialist
Jonatan Palmblad, Research associate (Managing editor of Arcadia, Virtual Exhibitions coordinator)

Special thanks go to the Rachel Carson Center’s directors, Christof Mauch and Helmuth Trischler; its advisory board; and to our colleagues Anna Amarotti, Marcus Andreas, Mara Appelhagen, Megan Barry, Brenda Black, Julia Blanc, Ewald Blocher, Abigail Bogaarts, Clara Booker, Suzanne Bruins, Andrea Cooke, Marielle Dado, Susanne Darabas, Michael Del Vecchio, Carmen Dines, Daniel Dumas, Marc Elie, Hannah Emerson, Robert Emmett, Eliza Encheva, Paul Erker, Stefan Esselborn, Andreas Grieger, Wilko Graf von Hardenberg, Achmad Hawi, Arielle Helmick, Kristin von Heyking, Sophia Hoerl, Stephanie Hood, Maria Ilker, Elena Isenberg, Arda Isildar, Anderson Jones, Janosch Killian, Katrin Kleemann, Malin Klinski, Agnes Kneitz, Dominic Kotas, Miriam Kronester, Patrick Kupper, Franz Langer, Oliver Liebig, Annka Liepold, Eugenio Luciano, Jason Ludwig, Felix Mauch, Kirsty McCluskey, Ash Milton, Angelika Moeller, Katharina Müller, Ursula Münster, Shruti Neelakantan, Amanda Norrlander, Jonatan Palmblad, Emilie Perault, Isabelle Plessis, Noemi Quagliati, J. Jesse Ramirez, Claudia Reusch, Anja Rieser, Katie Ritson, Hannah Roberson, Samantha Rothbart, Anne Schilling, Paul Senker, Martin Spenger, Laura Springmann, Maeve Storey, Eline Tabak, Maryam Tatari, Benjamin Tendler, Franziska Torma, Frank Uekoetter, Ivan Vilovic, Ruscha Voormann, Hannah Walker, Alexa Weik von Mossner, Sonja Weinbuch, Claudia Whiteus, Nana Williams, Harriet Windley, and Donald Worster.

Development and Design

We thank Christian Schnabl and Max Sterz (42robots) and their colleague Karsten Violka for their capable and insightful work on the Portal’s development since 2013. Dan Pettet, our “IT superhero,” led the Portal’s IT development from its inception through its first year live. Sebastian Fuchs of Fuchs Webservices, Florian Loretan of Wunderkraut, Chris Duell of Subooa, and Stefan Lau of Stefan Lau Webdesign provided assistance in the project’s early stages. Our thanks to the innovative Aline Neumann and Patrick Schwab of PANDA for their web and interaction design.

Special thanks to our colleagues at our partner institutions for their collaboration and advice:

Wilhelm Füßl, Matthias Röschner, Helmut Hilz, Christian Knoop, and Ludwig Schletzbaum of the Deutsches Museum; Gregor Horstkemper, Max Schreiber, Lilian Landes, and Monika Doering of the Bavarian State Library; Finn Arne Jørgensen, Julia Lajus, Christof Mauch, Timo Myllyntaus, Mauro Agnoletti, Katrin Kleemann, Wilko Graf von Hardenberg, Patrick Kupper, Hrvoje Petric, Libby Robin, and Verena Winiwarter of the European Society for Environmental History; Gregg Mitman of the American Society for Environmental History; Michael Greif of Ecomove International; James Grossman and Doug Knox of the Newberry Library; and Louise Bernard and Rebekah Irwin of the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University.

For sharing best practices and advice, we additionally thank:

Frank Biasi, Arno Bosse, Dan Cohen, Jim Clifford, Hubertus Kohle, Karsten Kuehnel, Alan MacEachern, Sara McNeil, Darren Milligan, Grégory Quenet, Bill Turkel, Gordon Winder, and Volker Zapf.